SPARK Awards over $70,000 in Scholarships to Graduating PWCS Seniors
Posted on 06/04/2019
Collage of  images of SPARK scholarship  winners for 2019

SPARK, the Education Foundation for Prince William County Public Schools, has awarded scholarships to more than 45 graduating high school seniors. While SPARK manages over 20 scholarship funds, the Foundation directly manages the following scholarships.

The Dr. Edward L. Kelly Memorial Scholarship supports three graduating high school seniors who intend to become teachers. Dr. Kelly served as Superintendent of PWCS for 18 years. The recipients are:

  • Amanda Kraemer – Battlefield High School
  • Jason Smith – Charles J. Colgan Sr. High School
  • Kaitlyn Agostini – Stonewall Jackson High School
The Micron and Lockheed Martin Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) Scholarships award five graduating high school seniors who intend to pursue professional certification or careers in STEM fields. The recipients are:

Micron STEM
  • Sean Zylich – Woodbridge High School
  • Nathaniel Chong – Battlefield High School
  • Katherine Cinnamon – Forest Park High School
Lockheed Martin STEM
  • James Tsai – Woodbridge High School
  • Weesam Semaan – Battlefield High School
The Chick-fil-A Prince William County Scholarship awards a $4,000 scholarship to one graduating high school senior. The recipient is:
  • Sanjida Azad – Gar-Field High School
Red Lawson Scholarship Program provides scholarships to graduates of PWCS who:

Completed a Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) approved Career and Technical Education (CTE) sequence of courses and plan to pursue a Professional Certification, an Associate in Science (A.S.) Degree, or an Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) Degree. The recipients are:
  • Kwabena Mensah – Stonewall Jackson High School
  • Lauren Cravaritis – Patriot High School
Completed a VDOE approved CTE sequence of courses and plans to pursue a CTE plan of study at a post-secondary institute. The recipients are:
  • Evan Reid – Potomac High School
  • Sarah Caufield – Patriot High School
  • Christina Taylor – Battlefield High School
The YES Scholarship offers a $5,000 to a graduating high school senior who attended Yorkshire Elementary School. The recipient is:
  • Noah Roussel – Osbourn Park High School