Roll the Credits! Congratulations to these PWCS students at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology for being named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists
Posted on 10/29/2019
Text on black background listing the six Prince William County students who attend Thomas Jefferson High School named national merit scholarship semifinalists

Congratulations again to Noah Egan, Brentsville District High School, Ilene Jang Hong, Battlefield High School, and Faadil Mohammed, Osbourn Park High School, for being named one of the PWCS semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit ® Scholarship Program. Spotlights on these students can be found on our website under the 2019-20 News section.

In addition to these students, we are #PWCSProud of the following Prince William County students, who now attend the Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, for also qualifying:

Victoria Agrinya, previous student at Lake Ridge Middle School 

Benjamin Altermatt, previous student at Porter Traditional School

Joshua Boisvert, previous student at Benton Middle School

Stephanie Hachem, previous student at Parkside Middle School

Prithvi Nathan, previous student at Gainesville Middle School

Jessica Yoon, previous student at Bull Run Middle School 

Students enter the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which serves as an initial screening. By being one of the highest-scoring entrants in the state, each of these students have been recognized as a semifinalist; semifinalists make up less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors.

The National Merit Scholarships Corporation (NMSC) announced approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 65th National Merit Scholarship Program. NMSC offers three types of National Merit Scholarships. The finalists will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit ® $2,500 Scholarships that are awarded on a state-representational basis. Approximately 1,000 corporate-sponsored scholarship awards will be provided by more than 200 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria, and another 4,100 college-sponsored scholarships will be provided by nearly 180 colleges and universities.