PWCS high school students to serve on the Human Rights Student Leadership Council
Posted on 11/25/2019
The members of the 2019-20 Human Rights Student Leadership CouncilThe Prince William County Human Rights Commission, in partnership with Prince William County Public Schools (PWCS), has chosen the 2019-20 Human Rights Student Leadership Council (HRSLC). Twenty-four PWCS high school students have been selected to serve on the Council. In addition, three PWCS students have been selected as Human Rights Student Leadership Council ambassadors, a new program the Human Rights Commission launched this year. Ambassadors are former student members of the HRSLC who support the incoming members throughout the school year.

The HRSLC is offered to current high school sophomores, juniors, and seniors in public, private, and home school communities within Prince William County. The council helps develop young leaders and promotes dialogue on diversity, understanding, and an appreciation of the differences among students. Students on the council learn about human and civil rights laws and become informed about how to protect and assert their rights, with a goal toward filling leadership roles in the future and helping to prepare the next generation of prospective employees, tenants, and consumers.

Congratulations to the following PWCS students:

Human Rights Leadership Council Members:
Adewale Adekambi, Forest Park High School
Jasmine Agyepong, Patriot High School
Sama Alani, Patriot High School
Daniella Ameh, Hylton High School
Kalia Coleman, Potomac High School
Daniella Dani, Hylton High School
Benjamin Davis, Osbourn Park High School
Trisha Ghosh, Colgan High School
Madison Graham, Battlefield High School
Emon Green, Woodbridge High School
Sidney Hoeppner, Forest Park High School
Gianna Jirak, Hylton High School
Lauren LaFarree, Gar-Field High School
John Larkin, Forest Park High School
Ashley Nelson, Hylton High School
Lizbeth Nieto, Osbourn Park High School
Jordan Palmer, Colgan High School
Caroline Silvera, Hylton High School
Mijah Simmons, Woodbridge High School
Kyle Thaller, Patriot High School
Brandon-Lee Torres, Hylton High School
Avni Tyagi, Battlefield High School
Jasmine Williams, Osbourn Park High School
Lily Zachman, Forest Park High School

PWCS Ambassadors:
Jacqueline Mitchell, Hylton High School
Robert Moser, Colgan High School
Nicholas Nohe, Woodbridge 
Cheryl Wilfred, Patriot High School