Superintendent's Advisory Council on Sustainability


The Superintendent’s Advisory Council on Sustainability (SACS) will provide high-level recommendations relative to reducing the Division’s overall carbon footprint, protecting the environment, and realizing cost savings with emerging energy technologies. SACS shall advocate, examine, evaluate, recommend, and prioritize a long-term strategic plan to address Division-wide sustainability in standards for design and construction of facilities, expansion of environmental literacy in K-12 curriculum, and exploration of clean energy technologies that improve equipment and building efficiencies, as well as contribute to a more sustainable environment for future generations.


The Superintendent’s Advisory Council on Sustainability is comprised of community members, staff, and students. Meetings are held at the Kelly Leadership Center, Room 1101 A/B, at 7 p.m. on select Tuesdays. The public is welcome to attend. Time will be allotted at the beginning of each meeting for citizen comments. Those wishing to speak at the meeting during Citizen Comment time should email [email protected] no later than 2 p.m. the day of the meeting.

School Year 2021-22 Meeting Dates

Meeting Date Documents
August 24, 2021 Agenda (PDF) Minutes (PDF)
October 26, 2021 Agenda (PDF) Minutes (PDF)
January 25, 2022 Agenda (PDF) Minutes (PDF)
March 22, 2022 Agenda (PDF) Minutes (PDF)
May 24, 2022 Agenda (PDF) Minutes (PDF)

Please visit the Past SACS Meeting Resources page for agendas and meeting minutes from past school years.


Approved Bylaws – November 17, 2020 (PDF)

Council Members


Don Richardson – Community


PWCS Energy & Sustainability Staff


  • Tony Bright – Student
  • Karen Carney – Gainesville District
  • Hannah Casey – Community
  • Dr. Jessica Doiron – Staff
  • Meredith Holland – Woodbridge District
  • Leyla Hopkins – Potomac District
  • Dr. Sheila Huckestein – Staff
  • Aurora Hurtado – Occoquan District
  • Kristine Johnson – Community
  • Rob Johnson – Community
  • Dr. Earnie Porta – Community
  • Ramona Richardson – Staff
  • Stephanie Ruiz Molina – Student
  • Dakota Russell – Brentsville District
  • Angela Stouffer – Coles District
  • John Wheeler – At-Large