Advisory Council on Sustainability

Superintendent's Advisory Council on Sustainability


The Superintendent's Advisory Council on Sustainability (SACS) will provide high-level recommendations relative to reducing the division's overall carbon footprint, protecting the environment, and realizing cost savings with emerging energy technologies. SACS shall advocate, examine, evaluate, recommend, and prioritize a long-term strategic plan to address divisionwide sustainability in standards for design and construction of facilities, expansion of environmental literacy in K-12 curriculum, and exploration of clean energy technologies that improve equipment and building efficiencies, as well as contribute to a more sustainable environment for future generations.


The Superintendent's Advisory Council on Sustainability is comprised of community members, staff, and students. Meetings are held at the Kelly Leadership Center, Room 3011, at 7 p.m. on select Tuesdays. The public is welcome to attend. Time will be allotted at the beginning of each meeting for citizen comments. Those wishing to speak at the meeting during Citizen Comment time should email no later than 2 p.m. the day of the meeting.


School Year 2023-24 Meeting Dates

Meeting Dates, Agendas, and Minutes
Date Agenda Minutes
September 26, 2023 Agenda Minutes
November 28, 2023 Agenda Minutes
January 23, 2024 Agenda Minutes
March 26, 2024 Agenda Minutes
May 28, 2024 Agenda Minutes

Please visit the Past SACS Meeting Resources page for agendas and meeting minutes from past school years.


Approved Bylaws - November 17, 2020 (PDF)

Council Members


Dr. Jessica Doiron - Staff


PWCS Energy & Sustainability Staff


  • Anthony Aguilar - Student
  • Karen Carney - Gainesville District
  • Ashley Dodson - Occoquan District
  • Rico Fleshman- Community
  • Nic Gonzales - Utility
  • Charissa Hogan - Community
  • Leyla Hopkins - Potomac District
  • Kristine Johnson - Community
  • Rob Johnson - Community
  • Kristy Jones- Community
  • Karen Juarez - Woodbridge District
  • Lani Lin-Kissick - Student
  • Sarah Plumatillo - Staff
  • Dr. Earnie Porta - Community
  • Abigail Santos - Student
  • Brian Slater - Staff
  • Angela Stouffer - Coles District
  • Corinne Vetter - Brentsville District
  • John Wheeler - At-Large