Regional Accreditation Agencies

Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Degree-granting institutions which offer one or more postsecondary educational programs at least one academic year in length in Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and other geographic areas in which the commission now conducts accrediting activities.

New England Association of Schools and Colleges
Institutions that award bachelor's, master's or doctoral degrees and associate degree granting institutions that include degrees in liberal arts and general studies in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, and other geographic areas in which the commission now conducts accrediting activities.

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA-HLC)
Degree granting institutions incorporated in Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, or federally authorized sovereign nations that are authorized (licensed) by the same state or nation to award higher degrees (associate, baccalaureate, master's, first professional and/or doctoral degrees (both research and professional).

Northwest Commissions on Colleges and Universities
The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) is an independent, nonprofit membership organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as the regional authority on educational quality and institutional effectiveness of higher education institutions in the seven-state Northwest region of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. It fulfills its mission by establishing accreditation criteria and evaluation procedures by which institutions are reviewed.

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
Regional accrediting body for degree-granting institutions in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and in Latin America. (2003)

Western Association of Schools and Colleges
Baccalaureate degree or higher institutions in California, Hawaii, and Guam; institutions incorporated within the region that do not offer degree programs in the region when such programs reviewed effectively by WASC-ACSCU processes and are American in style and offered in English; and joint accreditation for community colleges that offer one baccalaureate degree and meet the conditions of the joint policy with the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (WASC-ACCJC).