American flag flying outside at sunset

U.S. Military Branches

The U.S. Armed Forces are made up of six military branches: Air Force, Army, Coast Guard, Marine Corps, Navy, and Space Force. In addition to the six military branches, the Army and Air National Guard is a reserve component of the U.S. Armed Forces, and responds to domestic emergencies, overseas combat missions, counter-drug efforts, reconstruction missions, and more. Visit the U.S. military branch webpages below, along with the National Guard, to learn more.

Reserve Officers' Training Corps (ROTC)

What is the ASVAB?

What is the ASVAB?

The Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) is a multiple-aptitude battery that measures developed abilities and helps predict future academic and occupational success in the military. It is administered annually to more than one million military applicants, high school, and post-secondary students.

The ASVAB is hosted at local high schools. Please contact your high school for details regarding when the next testing window may occur. Students are also able to take the ASVAB with a local recruiter.

Some students take the ASVAB because they plan to enter the military; however, others, especially seniors, who aren't planning to enter the military but may still be unsure of their career interest path, may take it to gather more career interest information about themselves. Scores on all of the ASVAB subtests are used to determine the best job for you in the military.

ASVAB Resources:

Free Study Guides for the ASVAB-Union Test Prep

Sample Questions:

Practice Tests:

What is the AFQT?

What is the AFQT?

The Armed Forces Qualification Test (AFQT) is used to determine your eligibility for enlistment in the Army, Navy, Air Force, or Marine Corps. The AFQT is a percentile score that indicates the percentage of examinees in a reference group who scored at or below that particular score.

AFQT Qualifying Scores for Different Branches of the Military