Noah Egan is a 2020 National Merit® Scholarship Program finalistNoah Egan, a senior attending Brentsville District High School and the Governor's School @ Innovation Park, is a 2020 National Merit® Scholarship Program finalist. Egan was one of 2,500 Merit Scholars chosen from a group of over 15,000 finalists. Egan entered the 2020 National Merit® Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which serves as an initial screening. By being one of the highest-scoring entrants in the state, Egan was first recognized as a semifinalist; semifinalists make up less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors, proving Egan is an exceptionally talented academic student.

In a previous interview when asked about his academic success and becoming a semifinalist, he identified his love of reading and math as a stepping-stone of his success. "I've always liked math, and I read a lot of books outside of school. I think my experience in reading and math outside of school helped me a lot for the test," explained Egan.

Egan is part of a second group of winners announced by the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. The number of winners in each state is proportional to the state's percentage of all the graduating high school seniors nationwide. By the conclusion of this year's program, he will be one of approximately 7,600 Merit Scholar finalists who are collectively awarded over $30 million in college scholarships.

Finalists from each state are chosen by a combination of academic acumen, potential of future success in rigorous college courses, as well as demonstrated leadership and contributions in their schools and community activities.

Egan has exemplified leadership through his contributions to the school community. Egan is the founder and co-president of the Brentsville District High chapter of Mu Alpha Theta. As part of this club, he offers tutoring sessions for both high school and elementary school students. He is also co-captain of the academics team and the lead programmer for his VEX robotics team. Egan plans to attend a four-year university to study aerospace or mechanical engineering.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), a not-for-profit corporation, was founded in 1955 to conduct the National Merit® Scholarship Program. NMSC offers three types of National Merit® Scholarships. The finalists compete for one of 2,500 National Merit® $2,500 Scholarships that are awarded on a state-representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored scholarship awards are provided by more than 200 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria, and another 4,100 college-sponsored scholarships are provided by nearly 180 colleges and universities. Learn more about the National Merit® Scholarship Program.