Headshots of Ben Kim, Caroline Silvera, and Ashley Menjivar.- the three student school board reps for the 2020-21 school year

The Prince William School Board selected Ben Kim, a rising senior from Stonewall Jackson High School, and Caroline Silvera, a rising senior from C.D. Hylton High School, as student representatives to the School Board for the 2020-21 school year. Kim served as a student representative during the 2019-20 school year before the global pandemic closed the schools. Ashley Menjivar, a rising senior from Woodbridge High School, was selected as the alternate.

The role of the student representative is to solicit the opinions and views of other PWCS high school students concerning issues before the School Board, to act as a conduit between the student body and the School Board through the Student Representative Senate, and to attend open sessions of regular School Board meetings. Student representatives are non-voting members and serve for one term concluding with the final School Board meeting of the school year. The student representatives will alternate on a monthly basis sitting at meetings with the School Board and leading the Student Representative Senate.

Kim is the winner of the U.S. Army Student-Athlete Character Award, Iron Raider Athlete Award, Energy and Drive Award for Lacrosse, and his SeaPerch Underwater Robotics team qualified for national competition in 2019. He is co-organizer of the PWCS Student Senate, founder of Free SAT Tutoring at Stonewall Jackson High School, and participated on the cross country, swim, and lacrosse teams. He is also a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and National Honor Society. He volunteers weekly at his church, and tutors for a non-profit organization that supports the education of disadvantaged students.

Silvera is a participant in the Ella Baker Youth Leadership Program, and earned a place on the Principal's Honor Roll from 2017-2020. She is a school nominee for the Youth Salute award, and participated in the Summer Residential Governor's School and Hispanic College Institute.

She served as the junior class secretary, and is vice president and co-founder of the Latin American Student Association. She also participates on the school yearbook staff, and is a member of the Art Honor Society National Honor Society, and Spanish Honor Society. She is also vice-president of the Prince William County Human Rights Student Leadership Council.

Menjivar is a member of the National Honor Society, National English Honor Society, National History Honor Society and earned the Academic Excellence Award and Vikings Value Award. She is a member of the AP Scholars Program, serves as a captain for the Student Council and for the Student Activities Leadership Council.

Members of the Student Senate for the 2020-21 School Year Follow:

Student Senate:

  • Battlefield High School: Muhammad Usufzai
  • Brentsville District High School: Nia Brooks
  • Charles J. Colgan Sr. High School: Naomi Solomon
  • Forest Park High School: Benjamin Raidman
  • Freedom High School: Samir Herrera
  • Gar-Field High School: Syrell Grier
  • C.D. Hylton High School: Victoria Miranda
  • Independence Nontraditional School: Trent Fisher
  • Osbourn Park High School: Seemeen Hanan
  • Patriot High School: Lauren Snowden
  • Potomac High School: Marilyn Lontchi
  • Stonewall Jackson High School: Shane Goodson
  • Woodbridge High School: Aisha Khan