National Merit Semifinalists

Congratulations to the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists from PWCS high schools. Following are this year's semifinalists:

  • Saahas Gowda, Battlefield High School
  • Raj D. Joshi, Battlefield High School
  • Melanie J. Rosado, Charles J. Colgan, Sr. High School
  • Iqra Ahmad, Osbourn Park High School
  • Ritika K. Bawa, Patriot High School

In addition to these students, the following Prince William County students, who now attend the Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, also qualified:

  • Aditya Chezhiyan, previous student at Marsteller Middle School
  • Joshua Lim, previous student at Porter Traditional School
  • Jasjeet Sandhu, previous student at Ronald Wilson Reagan Middle School

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. Students entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

Finalists will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit® $2500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be provided by approximately 220 corporations and business organizations for Finalists who meet their specified criteria, such as children of the grantor's employees or residents of communities where sponsor plants or offices are located. In addition, about 180 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for Finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.

For more information on NMSC or the National Merit Scholarship Program, please visit their website.