Prince William County Public Schools

PWCS Menu and Options
  • PWCS high school students to serve on the Human Rights Student Leadership Council

    Photo of 2021-22 Human Rights Student Leadership Council The Prince William County Human Rights Commission, in partnership with Prince William County Public Schools (PWCS), has chosen the 2021-22 Human Rights Student Leadership Council (HRSLC). Thirty-five PWCS high school students have been selected to serve on the Council, including one PWCS student who was selected as a Human Rights Student Leadership Council ambassador. Ambassadors are former student members of the HRSLC who support the incoming members throughout the school year.

    The HRSLC is offered to current high school sophomores, juniors, and seniors in public, private, and home school communities within Prince William County. The council helps develop young leaders and promotes dialogue on diversity, understanding, and an appreciation of the differences among students. Students on the council learn about human and civil rights laws and become informed about how to protect and assert their rights, with a goal toward filling leadership roles in the future and helping to prepare the next generation of prospective employees, tenants, and consumers.

    Congratulations to the following PWCS students:

    Battlefield High School
    Daniel Kwon
    Kundayi Mazando
    Muhammad Usufzai
    Jaylen Waithe

    Brentsville District High School
    Leo Landry

    Charles J. Colgan Sr. High School
    Trinity Chamblin
    Adishiwot Fricke
    Mia Hicks
    Anna Phillips
    Reagan Fournier
    Carley Mayers
    Michael Mazza (Ambassador)

    Forest Park High School
    Luke Brockenberry

    Freedom High School
    Azara Abukari
    Nishat Ahmed
    Roqia Ali
    Amailei Anderson
    Angel Gill
    Genisus Brown

    Gainesville High School
    Shifa Fayyaz
    Halia Hoffman

    Gar-Field High School
    Zerenity Walker

    Independence Nontraditional School
    Yasmin Ramirez-Dominguez
    Faith Sellman

    Osbourn Park High School
    Hanna Aklil
    Isabella Aversano
    Zachary Johnson
    Madison Nally
    Mehmood Shajih

    Patriot High School
    Anuti Shah

    Potomac High School
    Ciara Benitoe

    Unity Reed High School
    Alejandro Alegre

    Woodbridge High School
    Rediet Dawit
    Kyle Pardo
    Malia Sarmac