2022 National Merit Scholarship winners from Prince William County

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) named seven Prince William County (PWC) students as 2022 National Merit Scholarship winners. These students were chosen from a pool of more than 15,000 semifinalists.

This year's National Merit Scholarship Program began in October 2020 when high school juniors took the PSAT/NMSQT, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The highest-scoring participants in each state, representing less than one percent of the nation's high school seniors, were named semifinalists on a state-representational basis.

Congratulations to Aatish Sethi, student at Battlefield High School and The Governor's School @ Innovation Park, for winning the National Merit Truist Scholarship, a corporate-based National Merit Scholarship.

Congratulations to the PWC students who won $2,500 National Merit Scholarships, funded by NMSC.

  • Iqra Ahmad, Osbourn Park High School and The Governor's School @ Innovation Park
  • Ritika K. Bawa, Patriot High School
  • Saahas Gowda, Battlefield High School
  • Raj D. Joshi, Battlefield High School and The Governor's School @ Innovation Park
  • Melanie J. Rosado, Charles J. Colgan Sr. High School
  • Jasjeet Singh Sandhu, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, previously a student at Ronald Wilson Reagan Middle School

NMSC, a nonprofit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. The majority of National Merit Scholarships offered each year are underwritten by some 400 independent corporate and college sponsors that support NMSC's efforts to honor the nation's scholastically talented youth and encourage academic excellence at all levels of education.

Learning and Achievement for All Story Strip