PWC SEPTA logo on plaque

The Prince William County Special Education Parent Teacher Association (SEPTA) held its third annual recognition awards ceremony virtually on Sunday, May 1. The event recognized the outstanding teachers, administrators, professionals, school staff, students, and community members who have gone above and beyond to support students with disabilities in our community.

Congratulations to the following PWCS nominees and award winners*:

Outstanding Administrator

Ken Burton, Springwoods Elementary School
Amy Cole, Independence Nontraditional School
Mark Mahalchick, Antietam Elementary School*
Matthew Meyer, Cedar Point Elementary School
David Parrish, Charles J. Colgan Sr. High School
Richard J. Terrillion, Cluster 4 Coordinator (Chris Yung, Ellis, Mullen, Sinclair, Sudley, and West Gate Elementary Schools, Unity Braxton Middle School, and Unity Reed High School)

Outstanding Instructional Assistant/Paraprofessional

Sadia Ajaz, Antietam Elementary School
Dana Bragg, Antietam Elementary School
Tymesha Ford, Bel Air Elementary School
Provvidenza Cortese, Woodbridge High School
Kelly Gandee, Bel Air Elementary School
Jen McDonald, Springwoods Elementary School
Susan Medici, Antietam Elementary School*

Outstanding General Education Teacher - Elementary (Includes Pre-K)

Kelly Brinson, Buckland Mills Elementary School
Lori J. Dorrel, Antietam Elementary School
Toni Anne Harris, Buckland Mills Elementary School
Tessa Swiger, Buckland Mills Elementary School
Emily Turkovich, Antietam Elementary School
Shannon Zachariasen, Springwoods Elementary School*

Outstanding General Education Teacher - Secondary

Emily Bradberry, Gainesville High School*

Outstanding Special Education Teacher - Elementary (Includes Pre-K)

Theresa Brito, Washington-Reid Preschool Center
Elizabeth Brownlow, Cedar Point Elementary School
Yukiko Dove, Leesylvania Elementary School
Lauren Fenner, Swans Creek Elementary School*
Stephanie Gatewood, Rockledge Elementary School
Carly Killmeyer, Marumsco Hills Elementary School
Melissa Mardeusz, Springwoods Elementary School
Rebecca Pfister, PWC Virtual Learning Academy - Elementary
Emily Turkovich, Antietam Elementary School
Linda Ware, Washington-Reid Preschool Center

Outstanding Special Education Teacher - Secondary

Stacie Bonat, Charles J. Colgan Sr. High School
Joseph Campagna, C.D. Hylton High School*
Ann Johnson, Woodbridge High School
Lyndsay McKay, Gainesville High School
Amy Elliott-Villegas, Lake Ridge Middle School
Donnalea Wilkerson, Independence Nontraditional School

Outstanding Inclusive Program

Fin Friends, Charles J. Colgan Sr. High School*

Outstanding Student who supports inclusion

Ella Van Echo, Charles J. Colgan Sr. High School*

Outstanding Related Services Provider (counselors, occupational therapists, physical therapists, speech pathologists, adaptive physical education)

Mackenzie Poirier, Antietam Elementary School, Speech Pathologist
Erin Saar, Antietam Elementary School, Counselor*

Outstanding Support Staff

Renee K. Graham, Antietam Elementary School, Library Media Assistant*

Outstanding Co-Curricular Staff (specials/encores, electives, English for speakers of other languages, assistive technology specialists, after school programs)

Darianella Baret, Marumsco Hills Elementary School
Nancy Blake, Antietam Elementary School
Les Cline, Leesylvania Elementary School*
Andrea Morgan, Cedar Point Elementary School
Niki Niles, PWCS Special Education Department; Behavior Specialist

Outstanding Bus Driver

John Mendez, PWCS Transportation Department*

*Denotes award winners