PWCS announces finalists for the 2024 Outstanding Educators Awards

To cultivate an empowering, supporting, and engaging environment with a strong sense of belonging, Prince William County Public Schools will recognize excellence in the workplace at the annual Outstanding Educators ceremony on Tuesday, April 30, at the Hylton Performing Arts Center. During the ceremony, winners will be announced in the following categories:

  • Novice Teacher of the Year
  • Teacher of the Year
  • Principal of the Year
  • Support Employee of the Year (New addition this year)

This event will also include the recognition of the finalists for these awards, educators who received or renewed their National Board Certification, and outstanding mentors and lead mentors.

The event will be streamed live on PWCS Facebook and PWCS YouTube.

Congratulations to these exemplary PWCS employees.

Teacher of the Year Finalists

  • Frances Gabor, Beville Middle School
  • Kelly Kirkendall, Gainesville High School
  • Blake LoPresti, Ronald Wilson Reagan Middle School
  • Sally Moore, Swans Creek Elementary School
  • Jennifer Nichols, Covington-Harper Elementary School
  • Angela Savage, John D. Jenkins Elementary School
  • Stephen Shetler, Patriot High School
  • Angela Steinebach, Brentsville District High School
  • Erin Travis, Mullen Elementary School
  • Sabrina Tucker, Bristow Run Elementary School

Novice Teacher of the Year Finalists

  • Grace Cutsinger, Gainesville High School
  • Benjamin Forgas, Osbourn Park High School
  • Stephanie Gatewood, Rockledge Elementary School
  • Madison Graff, King Elementary School
  • Sophia Hobbs, Freedom High School
  • Rachel Pellegreen, Ashland Elementary School
  • Sofia Picon, Bennett Elementary School

Principal of the Year Finalists

  • Jim Dutrow, Lake Ridge Middle School
  • Dr. Tim Healey, Charles J. Colgan Sr. High School
  • janeene mainor, Springwoods Elementary School
  • Jennifer Perilla, Tyler Elementary School
  • Rachel Preston, Potomac Middle School
  • Brian Slater, Dale City Elementary School
  • Lisa Warner, Marsteller Middle School

Support Employee of the Year Finalists

  • Lizette del Carmen Pagan, kindergarten teacher assistant, Coles Elementary School
  • Tami Griffith, executive administrative assistant I, Human Resources Department
  • Hui-Min Xie, high school food service team leader, Woodbridge High School
  • Andrea Ilardia, parent liaison, C.D. Hylton High School
  • Steve Sealock, crew chief, Transportation Department
  • Kevin Stewart, custodian II, Potomac High School