Prince William County Public Schools

PWCS Menu and Options
  • PWCS announces the 2022 Nominees for Teacher and Principal of the Year, NBCTs

    2022 PWCS Outstanding Educators Nominees

    Fifty-one teachers were nominated by school staff, parents, students, and community members to be recognized as this year's PWCS Teacher of the Year, and nine principals have been nominated for the Principal of the Year award.

    Teacher applications are evaluated based on award criteria demonstrating that the teacher is an expert in their field who guides students of all backgrounds and abilities to achieve excellence; collaborates with colleagues, students, and families to create a school culture of respect and success; deliberately connects the classroom and key stakeholders to foster a strong community at large; demonstrates leadership and innovation in and outside of the classroom walls that embodies lifelong learning; and expresses themselves in an engaging and articulate way.

    Criteria for selection of the Principal of the Year include the ability to manage effectively; demonstrate and encourage creativity and innovation; foster cooperation between the school and the community; maintain a continuing dialogue with students and parents, as well as faculty and staff; keep abreast of developments in the field of education; encourage team spirit; demonstrate leadership and exemplify commitment; and continue to play an active role in the classroom.

    Finalists for these awards as well as educators who received or renewed their National Board Certification will be honored at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, May 24, at Gar-Field High School. The event will also recognize the finalists for Outstanding New Teacher, Lead Mentor, and Mentor of the Year. It will be streamed live on PWCS Facebook and PWCS YouTube, as well as available to view on demand on PWCS Facebook, PWCS YouTube, and, at a later date.

    Congratulations to these exemplary educators and administrators.

    Nominees for Teacher of the Year
    Judy Adams, Potomac Middle School
    Beth Anderson, Battlefield High School
    Michelle Anderson, Pattie Elementary School
    Dina Baird, Gravely Elementary School
    Sheila Baynham, The Nokesville School
    Sharon Bicey, Rippon Middle School*
    George Bishop, Battlefield High School
    Jean Brumagim, Buckland Mills Elementary School
    Karen Carney, Battlefield High School
    Donna Carroll, King Elementary School
    Michael Ciampaglione, Bristow Run Elementary School
    Jennifer Clegg, Benton Middle School
    Heather Collins, Benton Middle School
    Hillary Costello, Rockledge Elementary School*
    Sandra Coulter, Springwoods Elementary School
    Kassandra Di Placido, Unity Braxton Middle School
    Kelley Endreola, Battlefield High School
    Ronald Evans, Potomac High School
    Jeff Fiore, Forest Park High School
    Dana Fonner, T. Clay Wood Elementary School
    Julia Haggerty, Marshall Elementary School
    Elizabeth Harrison, Chris Yung Elementary School
    Lauren Hayworth, Marsteller Middle School
    Emmanuelle Hill, Porter Traditional School
    Lauren Kadlick, Ashland Elementary School
    Maryann Krueger, Triangle Elementary School
    Martha Lipscomb, Antietam Elementary School
    Jennifer Ludlow, T. Clay Wood Elementary School
    Nancy Marrero, Gainesville High School
    Kelsey McCrystal, Westridge Elementary School
    Staci McFadden, Chris Yung Elementary School
    Stacie Mulholland, T. Clay Wood Elementary School
    Scott Pollock, Benton Middle School*
    Kathleen Pollock, Kyle Wilson Elementary School
    Katy Prince, Antietam Elementary School*
    Micheline Raton, Antietam Elementary School*
    Sarah Riechers, Marshall Elementary School
    Todd Robbins, Osbourn Park High School*
    Melody Samsel, The Nokesville School*
    Brian Shaffer, Battlefield High School*
    Anthony Shulsky, Forest Park High School
    Jessica Starzyk, Sudley Elementary School
    Lori Sterne, Unity Reed High School*
    Cynthia Sutton, Graham Park Middle School*
    Rebecca Utter, Battlefield High School
    Katie VanDenBerghe, Patriot High School*
    Daniel Venema, Covington-Harper Elementary School
    Randi Warren, Patriot High School*
    Giovanni Whyte, Mullen Elementary School*
    Christopher Wood, T. Clay Wood Elementary School*
    Shannon Zachariasen, Springwoods Elementary School*

    Nominees for Principal of the Year
    Heather Abney, Woodbridge High School**
    Michael Bishop, Patriot High School
    Mary Jane Boynton, Parkside Middle School
    Andrew Buchheit, T. Clay Wood Elementary School
    Rhonda Jeck, Bristow Run Elementary School**
    Michael Kelchin, Gravely Elementary School
    Janeene Mainor, Springwoods Elementary School**
    Richard Martinez, Forest Park High School
    Katherine Meints, Brentsville District High School**

    National Board-Certified Teachers
    Paige Bartalot, Rockledge Elementary School
    Kimberly Carter, Unity Reed High School
    Amy Cofer, Pattie Elementary School
    Amira Elsiah, Freedom High School
    Mark Groom, Antietam Elementary School
    Kerri Hallman, Saunders Middle School
    Lisa Jacobsmeyer, Henderson Elementary School
    Elizabeth Linehan, Parkside Middle School
    Megan Martin, Pattie Elementary School
    Melissa Morse, Gainesville High School
    Patricia Motley, Pattie Elementary School
    Patricia Napolitano, Patriot High School
    Diana Pool, Battlefield High School
    Amanda Shaw, Covington-Harper Elementary School
    Crystal Watt, Ashland Elementary School

    *Denotes finalist for the 2022 Teacher of the Year award.
    **Denotes finalist for the 2022 Principal of the Year award.