Virginia Standards of Learning Tests

The Virginia Board of Education has developed the Virginia Assessment Program to assess students' academic progress in the Standards of Learning (SOL). The SOLs indicate Virginia's expectations for what students should know and be able to do in the subject areas of reading, writing, mathematics, science, and history/social science.

Grades 3-8 Standards of Learning Tests

List of Standards of Learning Tests by Grade Level
Grade 3 Grade 4 Grade 5 Grade 6 Grade 7 Grade 8
Math Math Math Math Math Math
Reading Reading Reading Reading Reading Reading
Virginia Studies Science Science
Integrated Reading and Writing Civics and Economics
Integrated Reading and Writing

Any middle school student enrolled in an End-of-Course subject will take the corresponding SOL End-of-Course test.

End-of-Course Standards of Learning Tests

List of Standards of Learning Tests by Grade Level
Grade 9 Grade 10 Grade 11
Algebra I Geometry Algebra II
Earth Science Biology Chemistry
World History I World History II VA and US History
World Geography
English: Reading
English: Writing

This list represents the grade at which students traditionally participate in these end-of-course tests. Students who enroll in these courses are expected to participate in the associated SOL test or alternative assessment, except in cases where a high school student has already earned the required verified credit in the relevant subject area and met all federal participation requirements outlined in the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015 (ESSA). ESSA requires the annual assessment of students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and at least once in grades 9-12. In addition, students must be assessed in science at least once in grades 3 through 5, once in grades 6 through 9 and once in grades 10-12.

Additional information related to the SOLs and verified credit requirements for graduation is available online at the Virginia Department of Education website.